How many can I fit in a rack

“How Many can I fit in a rack?”  This became the main question. I had been used to putting 40 XServe’s in a single rack netting me 320 cores per rack, but I wanted to do better.  I began thinking that this may not be such a bad thing after all.  The XServe’s were limited to a single machine per rack unit “U”, but I may be able to get multiple Mac Mini’s per “U”.  The Xserve’s were very power hungry, requiring powerful Power distribution units (PDU’s), while the Mac Mini’s sipped the juice. The XServe’s ran hot, the Mini’s were cool. So, the question became, “Just how many can I fit in a rack?”

Leave a Reply

